Tales From A Hungry Life

January 4, 2011

New Year’s Resolutions

Filed under: Uncategorized — talesfromahungrylife @ 1:08 pm

by Maria Lagalante Schulz

Like most people, I find the concept of New Year’s resolutions both hopeful and hopeless. On New Year’s Eve, I feel heady with the notion of finally accomplishing all those things that I haven’t even come close to doing in my preceding decades of life.

I’ll lose that weight, get fit and love it, finish my book, paint the house, clean out all of my closets, start cooking from scratch, stumble upon a cure for cancer and maybe even work towards world peace.

Usually by January 10th, I’ve already broken my New Year’s resolutions. This leads to recriminations and remorse the following New Year’s Eve, when I look over my list and realize that I’ve failed yet again. So here, in no particular order, are the resolutions I think I have a good chance of keeping in 2011.

1)   I will not lose weight.

a)    That’s right, I’m not aiming to lose a dress size or to be on the back of any Special K boxes. I will not sign up for any online dieting programs that help me count my calories, spot all of the ways I’ve gone wrong, and make me hate myself more. I will instead add more fruits and vegetables to my meals. And if I do eat a cookie or candy bar, I will not wear a hair shirt or self-flagellate.

b)   If I do lose weight, I will not tell anyone. I am tired of talking about my weight. If I should lose a few pounds following an illness (or during an illness), someone invariably says, “You look great!” So, let me get this straight…I’m possibly dying from a body-wasting affliction, but I should be glad because I lost weight and now I look good? How bad did I look before?

c)    If I do lose weight, maybe I will tell a few people, because I can’t help myself. I’m not ruling anything out.

2)   I will not climb Mount Everest. I never understood the saying, “why climb Mount Everest? Because it’s there.” So what? I don’t even take the five flights of stairs up to work, and they’re there too. No, mountain climbing is not for me. In all likelihood, I would never hear my Sherpa’s warnings. When he told me to tie my cramp-on, I would say, “Huh?” fall off a precipice and die of starvation, frostbite and multiple compound fractures. The only way it could get worse is if there was a Great White shark waiting for me below. Instead, I’ll keep climbing the hills near my house with my dog on her leash. When it’s icy and she sees a cat, it’s just as dangerous.

3)   I will not teach the world to sing in perfect harmony. I might, however, buy some friends a Coke. I tried to swear off soda last year, and I was great from January to April. But then, Easter came…and my old Lenten habits kicked in. It was Easter Sunday! Jesus rose from the dead! Surely he wanted me to have a Coke to celebrate.

4)   I will find a fitness program that I like and stick with it. I will ride my bike, jump rope, walk the dog, and do kettle bells. Here’s what I won’t do:

a) I will not buy Jane Fonda’s newest fitness video. Nothing personal, Ms. Fonda, but you’re in your 70s. If I can’t keep up with you, I will never recover.

b) I will not take Hot Yoga in a 105-degree classroom. I have enough problems with regular yoga. Yes, I know it’s a great thing for your mind and body. I also know that, like my mother before me, I can’t do a class without wanting to lapse into a coma. My mother’s yoga instructor at Elaine Powers used to compliment her on her relaxed state before she realized my mother was sound asleep. Knowing me, I would probably pass out in a pretzel shape and die of heat exhaustion.

c) I will not sign up for Spin classes with a teacher who screams at me. How is that motivating? I have been on the verge of cardiac arrest while my teacher screamed, “What’s the matter? You can’t do it?” No. It’s not that I can’t. It’s that my soon to be lifeless body won’t.

5)   I will read more books and watch less TV. Unless, of course, there’s a really great TV show on that I can’t miss because I don’t want to. Then, I’ll watch TV more and read less. I think the key to success here is flexibility.

6)    I will write every dayOr maybe every three days. I don’t have to complete the great American novel by 2012, but I can write another blog post. Or short story. Or work on my book about my family. I am pretty sure that my children, nieces and nephews, and possibly grandchildren will be published long before I am. But that’s okay! If they can get a publisher to look at my work, I’m in!

7)   I will not start smoking. Since I have never smoked a day in my life, I am not going to start now. I saw the price of a pack of cigarettes is about $11. WHAT? My father used to give me $1 and let me keep the change. There’s no way he’d let me keep the change from a $20 bill. I will just have to stick to candy cigarettes.

8)    I will take a class and learn something new. I’m not even joking about this one. My husband bought me a gift certificate to a cooking school, where I’m going to learn how to cook soup. Apparently, the broth-making technique is a killer, and you’re not considered a soup-making guru just because you know how to use a can-opener. I’m excited and terrified. It’s bringing me back to the days when I worked as a deli cook and my boss taught me how to make roast beef, turkey, Virginia ham, potato salad, macaroni salad, Cole slaw and rice pudding—and I almost burned the place to the ground.

9)    I will enjoy more time with my friends. Remember when you were a kid and you’d have hours of free time to meet your best friend and talk, laugh, ride bikes, or just walk around town? It’s been a long time since I enjoyed that kind of freedom. Nowadays, I don’t see my friends nearly enough. I did end the year on the right note by seeing West Side Story with my beloved friend, Lisa. Although we’re native New Yorkers, we made a tourist’s mistake by getting tickets for the last Saturday before Christmas. The streets were so crushed with traffic that I had to ditch my car on 55th and Park, and walk uptown to 56th and Broadway to meet Lisa at a sushi restaurant. For those of you who don’t know Manhattan, that’s really REALLY far. But it was worth it! I’m not sure if Lisa got home to New Jersey yet, but I’m sure she’ll agree with me if she ever gets there.

10)  I will write more blog posts about my sister-in-law, Kathie. She seems to think my blog would be a lot more interesting if I wrote about her. I am working on future blog posts right now.

11)   I will not bring a chimpanzee into my home as my surrogate son/pet.

This is why you should not get a pet with opposable thumbs

I have enough problems getting my dog off the couch. You have to wonder about people who bring wild animals into their homes and say things like, “he was always so sweet! He played Solitaire on the computer! He drank red wine! But then he snapped and killed every member of my family.” Um, yes. That’s what wild animals will do, especially when you ply them with red wine and let them troll on the Internet all day long.

12)  I will eat more chocolate. I’m not sure this is physically possible, but I promise to try.

 

Recipe

 

Why not eat more chocolate with me? Here’s a toffee recipe that looks delicious:

http://www.bhg.com/recipe/candy/terrific-toffee/

 

Or how about a Hot Chocolate to warm you up:

http://www.bhg.com/recipe/appetizers-snacks/white-hot-chocolate/

 

So, what’s your New Year’s resolution? Do you have a funny story to share about resolutions gone wrong? What’s the most ridiculous thing you vow not to do this year? Share your thoughts and let us all in on the fun.

BTW, WordPress send me the stats below as a way to let me know how my blog is doing. My blog health-o-meter reads “Wow.” I feel just like I did when I’d get a gold star back in 2nd grade. Yipeey!

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 2,100 times in 2010. That’s about 5 full 747s.

 

In 2010, there were 19 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 96 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 30mb. That’s about 2 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was April 7th with 72 views. The most popular post that day was Let’s Eat.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were networkedblogs.com, facebook.com, mail.yahoo.com, WordPress Dashboard, and webmail.aol.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for almond joy, blow pops, charleston chews candy, tales from a hungry life, and candy cigarettes.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Let’s Eat April 2010
32 comments

2

I Like Candy November 2010
11 comments

3

Chock Full Of Nuts April 2010
13 comments

4

Summer Reading June 2010
16 comments

5

Love and Cookies August 2010
5 comments

6 Comments »

  1. Yeah, I made a post! “Beloved friend.” Ooh, that feels good. (And yes, I just arrived in NJ about an hour ago.) Glad to see you’re starting off the new year on a non-resolution note. Just keep writing!

    Comment by Lisa — January 4, 2011 @ 2:38 pm | Reply

  2. I’m with you on #12! Go chocolate!!

    Comment by turafish — January 4, 2011 @ 10:29 pm | Reply

  3. I never used to make resolutions but now that I have aged, like good wine here are a few for 2011: I will make only good investments! The first is at my age never to buy green bananas. I will live each day as though it is my last and at my age it may very well be! I will continue to watch Seinfield reruns and gain by the good karma and philosphy of George who is my hero right after Mr. Costanza. I will get more sleep which is easy as all I have to do is turn on the TV and watch. This year I will NOT write the Yankees requesting a try out. One good thing I have found at my age is I can say almost anything I want to pretty young girls who regard me as harmless so I will try to be more outrageous than I have been. AND Finally whenever I get depressed I shall read this blog so that my spirits can be uplifted by Maria’s great insights which are full of humor which She must know from whom she inherits it. Great Posting.

    Comment by Lou Lagalante — January 5, 2011 @ 1:03 pm | Reply

  4. I’m with you for the ‘Not Climbing Mount Everest’ thing. Why take the stairs when there’s a perfectly good elevator working right next to them? Just saying. Also, It Will Be the Battle To The Death for the chocolates around here, round one: Dad Vs Paige. So, for MY New Years Resolution, I will stay out of the way when the chocolate box is open. Keep writing, ma! 😉

    Comment by Maddie — January 6, 2011 @ 10:12 pm | Reply

  5. I think I missed this one the first time around. My thoughts …

    1b – there is something wonderful about a stomach virus if you can drop a few pounds!
    5 – have you see “This is Us”? Omg – so good.
    10 – yeah, Kathie!
    12 – as long as it’s dark chocolate, you are doing it for your health!

    Add one to the list for 2017 – see Beautiful with me and the aforementioned Kathie!

    Happy New Year!

    Comment by Christine — January 3, 2017 @ 8:14 am | Reply

    • I didn’t see This is Us, but will look for it. Beautiful in 2017! Start picking dates!

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — January 4, 2017 @ 1:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

