Tales From A Hungry Life

December 28, 2011

11 Best Books of 2011

by Maria Lagalante Schulz

One of the things I love doing more than anything is reading, but it wasn’t always that way. For me, it started in the 3rd grade when my homeroom teacher, Mrs. Grille, noticed that I was struggling and she decided to do something about it.

Every afternoon for months, Mrs. Grille worked with me. She  started with picture books, then magazine articles, followed by biographies about John F. Kennedy and Harriet Tubman, and finally novels like Little Women. By the end of the 3rd grade, I was one of the best readers in my class.

This year, that old love for reading was reignited when some friends invited me to join their book club. Being in a room with people who have very definite opinions, don’t mind sharing them, and help me see things in a new way is truly a gift.

Since I love talking about books I’ve read, here (in no particular order) are my top 11 books from ’11:

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua

This book fascinated me. Chua writes about the great lengths she was willing to go to in order to ensure that her daughters succeeded.

I can’t imagine being this iron willed over every little aspect of my children’s lives. I didn’t understand why her husband didn’t intervene early on, since he didn’t agree with her methods.

I found her lack of self-knowledge incredible. Amy Chua talks about what it was like to have parents who belittled her and demanded that she follow their rules, but she conveniently forgets that her parents also let her make some pretty huge decisions without forcing their own will upon her.

This book made me really grateful for my own mother, whose major form of interference was saying things like “do you really think that’s wise?” and letting you come up with the answer.

Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

When the ladies in book club chose this book, I thought “Oh no! I don’t want to read this!” It’s about a leper colony in Hawaii during the early part of the 20th century.

Now since I faint while reading about people with severed limbs, uncontrolled bleeding, or suffering of any kind, I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to get through it. But this book is so much more than that. It’s an absolutely stunning look at people who are forced into unthinkable conditions, and who somehow rise above it all. They form communities and have hopes and dreams, just like anyone else.

You root for the characters and you feel for them when they get sick or hurt, or lose someone they love. It was really one of the most moving, beautiful books I’ve ever read.

Lie by Caroline Bock

I was a little bit afraid to read and comment on this book because it was actually written by one of the members of the book club. What if I didn’t like it? What would I say? But once I started reading, I knew I had nothing to worry about.

Lie is a gripping story about a group of teenagers from Long Island who take part in the brutal beating of an illegal immigrant. Peer pressure, young love, and disorienting grief all play a part in the decisions made by each character as they decide whether or not to maintain the lie.

Each chapter offers another point of view, so you get many different perspectives about the event and its impact on everyone involved. I read the entire book in a day. It’s a riveting look at the lies we tell to ourselves and to others. Read it!

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar is Sylvia Plath’s semi-autobiographical novel about a young woman who has a bright future ahead as a writer. She’s gone to New York to work in publishing and she is heady with success. And that’s when it hits: her first encounter with a disabling depression that descends on her like a bell jar.

What struck me most was Plath’s amazing sense of humor. She could write about something as devastating as a crippling depression and still make you laugh. Her ability to describe what it was like to plunge into the world of mental illness is something I won’t soon forget.

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

Imagine what it would be like to forget that you have three children, you and your sister aren’t close anymore, and you’re embroiled in a nasty divorce. This is the premise of What Alice Forgot.

I thought it was going to be a downer, but it’s not. It’s a poignant, funny story about a woman who is trying to get back in touch with the person she was before marriage, children, and life crowded out her earlier self. The characters were endearing and I couldn’t wait to turn the page to read what would happen next.

Unfinished Desires by Gail Godwin

A Catholic school setting, nuns with regrets, teenage girls, and the hint of scandal: how could I not read this book?

Mother Ravenel leads her school by the sheer force of her will. Mother Malloy is the new teacher brought to Mount St. Gabriel’s from Boston to teach the 9th grade girls. This group of girls drove another long time teacher to quit her job and vow never to come back.

Godwin goes back and forth between the early years of the school up to 2001, when 85 year old Mother Ravenel is writing her memoir. There is a lot of talk about the “toxic year” of 1951-52, and the girls from that 9th grade class.

The book took a long time to get to the climax, which wasn’t what I was expecting, and then it meandered along to the end. I think the writer liked her characters so much that she couldn’t let them go. That was all right though; I liked them too.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

I had this book on my shelf for a few years before I finally picked it up. When I did, I wondered why I waited so long.

It’s a beautiful story of love, loss and longing. It’s set in a traveling circus and the details of that kind of life are rich and intriguing. The story opens with the hero, who is now about 90 and living in a nursing home.

I loved how it showed us that the elderly are not just fixtures without a past or a future. They are real people, with hopes, dreams, stories and opinions.

The love story at the center of it all was captivating too.

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

For all of you non-dog-lovers out there who say, “I can’t read a book told from a dog’s perspective,” please: stop. Suspend your disbelief and you won’t be sorry.

The narrator is Enzo, a lab-terrier mix who has been a faithful companion to Denny, a race-car driver with dreams of making it big. Enzo is beside Denny from bachelorhood through marriage and into parenthood. He takes it all in and helps Denny face disappointment, heartbreak and despair with hope and courage.

I didn’t want this book to end. It was funny, sweet, sad and ultimately uplifting.

A Dog’s Purpose by Bruce Cameron

Okay, this time I will say it: non-dog lovers, don’t read this book. However, if you do love dogs, cats, or any animal at all, don’t miss it.

This book was surprisingly spiritual, funny, and hard to put down. You follow one dog over the course of several lives as he searches for his true purpose. He is alternately treated well and abused by many different humans, and he has a lot of useful things to say about life, compassion, and how love never dies.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Miss Skeeter, a young white woman living in Mississippi during the Civil Rights era, wants to write something groundbreaking. With the help of Aibileen and Minny, two black maids, she is able to start collecting the stories of the black nannies, housekeepers and cooks who work in the homes of the white townspeople.

You quickly get caught up in the maids’ stories and you grow to care about every one of them. It’s touching to see how much love is shared between these women and the families they care for. You also realize how rotten people can be to one another.

I couldn’t stop reading this book, and I imagine it will probably end up on reading lists in high schools eventually (if it isn’t there already).

Sheila Levine is Dead and Living in New York by Gail Parent

Meet Sheila Levine. She’s a Long Island girl who has been trained since the day she was born that she isn’t anybody until she’s married. So, off she goes to New York City to find a glamorous job, the swinging singles scene, and her future husband.

But 25 pounds and scores of bad dates later, Sheila Levine realizes that she’s still nobody. She’s got a job she hates, a boyfriend that she despises and a sister who beats her to the altar. Worst of all, she’s about to turn 30! It’s then that she decides to kill herself, and she goes about her plans with hilarious results.

Even though this book was written in 1972, it’s the mother of all chick lit and is still funny today. The author was also a screenwriter on The Carol Burnett Show, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Rhoda, and The Golden Girls—so no wonder I loved it!

Recipe:

You know what I really love about my book club? Everybody brings something to eat! I enjoy sharing Italian pastries because it’s the only time I allow myself to have them these days.

Here’s an Italian tiramisu recipe that looks easy and delicious:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/tiramisu-layer-cake/detail.aspx

So…what books were your favorites in 2011? What would you recommend? Please leave a comment and let us all know.

Here’s the book I’m looking forward to reading (Chris and Anne, thanks for the great Christmas gifts!)

8 Comments »

  1. I wish I had the time to read that much! I knew you’d fit Big Jim in somehow haha…

    Comment by Turafish — December 28, 2011 @ 9:47 am | Reply

  2. I might pick up a few that you outlined above but I am really looking forward to getting my autographed copy of “Tales From A Hungry Life”…..please let 2012 be the year!

    Comment by TC — December 28, 2011 @ 10:07 am | Reply

  3. I am not and have never been an avid reader. Today’s crib notes were my Classic Comics. Whenever our English Teacher assigned a classic or we had a choice I ran to the Candy Store and bought the Classic Comics issue. My later years were filled with “How To Books” some of which were very useful and most were not. Sports books were good especially if they were about the New York Yankees. One book that sticks in my mind today even though I read it almost 70 years ago was The History of The Brooklyn Dodgers”, if you can, read this but don’t follow them to the west coast. The Brooklyn Dodgers stopped for me at 1957 or there-about. When I graduated grammar school my favorite book, not classic comics but a real book, was “Captain From Castile” which was made into a movie with the lead played by Tyrone Power. I will read the book whenever published, by my daughter because I am sure it will be the best book I will ever read. .

    Comment by Bglou — December 28, 2011 @ 7:03 pm | Reply

  4. I am curious to know how many books you devoured in 2011? Not just 11? I am ashamed to say I never have been the voracious reader that you were. I wonder if things would have been different if I had Miss Grille and you had Mrs. Hephy? I was one of the poorest readers in my class. She called Mom and suggested that I get glasses. If you had Hephy, maybe you would have gotten the glasses and I would have acquired the appetite for devouring books. Not to disparage Mrs. Hephy. She was a great Teacher. She was the one who told us whenever we hear a siren or an ambulance to pause and say a Hail Mary. I have never forgotten that and still implore that today. The Glasses were lost on me. I don’t think I needed them. I am starting to notice the need for them today. Maybe she just knew that in my future I would eventually need them. Nothing like being prepared. Wow, at 8 years old she had me pegged for glasses at 45 and a half, 46? She believed in getting them immediately. Really, she was a Svengolly! She also warned of the fate of those who were “SLOPPY!” I do remember taking the glasses and angling them under my eyes and pulling down my skin so I could show my eyes real big! I learned that from our brother Tony, the Glasses veteran. Come to think of it, if you would have got the glasses, you probably would have developed the love for reading anyway. You probably would have read faster! If I would have been with Miss Grille, I would most defiantly been bored out of my socks reading that Little woman, Harriet Tubmeir crap, wondering when I could get home and not do my homework. So How many books did you read this year?

    Comment by Chris — December 29, 2011 @ 12:16 am | Reply

  5. The best kind of reader — voracious as well as hungry!

    Comment by Caroline Bock (@cabockwrites) — January 3, 2012 @ 6:21 pm | Reply

  6. Rob Lowe’s autobiography is actually riveting and fun-you will like it Maria!

    Comment by Patty Pajamas — February 8, 2012 @ 7:39 pm | Reply

    • Thanks Patty! I got the Rob Lowe book and I’m going to read it. I’ll let you know what I think!

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — March 4, 2012 @ 9:20 pm | Reply

  7. […] My Eyes by Caroline Bock. You may have read her earlier book, Lie, which I reviewed in my post, 11 Best Books of 2011. Well, Bock is back with this riveting read about a group of teenagers who are all hurtling towards […]

    Pingback by Booked | Tales From A Hungry Life — February 26, 2014 @ 9:48 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

