Tales From A Hungry Life

April 9, 2014

Let’s Eat, Part V

by Maria Schulz

I just got a virtual “toast” from WordPress.com to congratulate me on my blogging anniversary. Yes, that’s right—I’ve been blogging for 4 years! After all this time, what have I learned? Let’s see: I will never run out of things to say, maybe people will even care, and so what if someone doesn’t like it—4 out of 5 dentists recommend sugar free gum, and 4 out of 5 people will probably get a kick out of my blog. You can’t please everyone.

So what’s my favorite part of posting? It has to be the funny, thoughtful comments that people leave. Here are my favorite posts and comments from the past year.

My Book Is Published

Sure, I said I’d publish my book about a million times before it happened, but hey—I did it after all! My book, Tales From A Hungry Life: A Memoir With Recipes, hit the virtual shelves last December, and the response from my readers was overwhelming. This blog gave me the reach and platform I needed to help make that dream come true, so thank you. Look for the Print edition  coming soon.

Now available on amazon.com

Now available on amazon.com

“Congrats Maria! Will d/l when I get a chance. Can’t wait for the movie next! :)”

Comment by George

Ancient Chinese secret, huh?

Ancient Chinese secret, huh?

Ancient Advertising Secrets

Where’s the Beef? Ancient Chinese Secret. Calgon, Take Me Away! These are all anthems to my youth, an innocent time when “Ring Around The Collar” and buying “two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun” were the biggest issues in my life.

“I still think one of the most memorable was the Staples back to school ad when the father is skipping down the aisle with the song “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” playing and the kids come trailing up behind looking miserable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DComGO8JYo

Loved the ones you had in your article–trip down memory lane!”

Comment by Deborah Hehn Derby

Summer Vacation

Who knew that our one and only family trip, taken in our sweltering Buick Station Wagon, would finally be good for a laugh? Yes, being stuck in a car for hours on end with 9 other people can have its advantages, especially when you get a blog post out of it and 26 comments.

Hot, hot, hot

Hot, hot, hot

“That trip has scarred your family for life. It is so hard to get the men in the family to do anything. I guess they have post traumatic stress disorder and are fearful to make any vacation plans. I’ve heard this story several times but not with so much detail. I think you captured it beautifully. Here’s to making more joyful and memorable vacations! It’s up to your family to right the wrongs of the past!”

Comment by Kathleen Lagalante

Actually, I think it’s up to the in-laws (especially if you want to go anywhere).
Comment by talesfromahungrylife

But we all remember our times at home and the Bronx Zoo, the rides in our car to Bayville. Joey throwing up in the car and it turning our stomachs as we drove home in the heat and smell. Great times!!!
Comment by Bglou

Yeah, that was some inconvenience . I mean stuffing 7 kids, two or three adults in a sweaty ’71 Buick station wagon with no air conditioner or power windows I had some nerve puking. You were lucky none of us died of heat exhaustion.
 Comment by Joe

And that wasn’t the time I was referring to. But I did keep the windows open so the hot air could waft through my hair. And don’t ask, “What Hair?”!!!
Comment by BgLou

Yeah, Joey. That was pretty thoughtless of you.
Comment by talesfromahungrylife

11 Cool Summer Movies

The summer days of my youth included no air conditioning and lots of trips to the movies. “Help me, Obi Wan. You’re my only hope!” aren’t just words uttered in the Star Wars series that my children consider “boring” and filled with “terrible” special effects. They are a mantra for life! And of course, who can ever forget the line from Jaws: “We’re going to need a bigger boat…”

Still great.

Still great.

“We only had an air conditioner in the den and one in my parents bedroom. My mother always used to yell if someone left the den door all the way open. We had to leave it open a little bit just in case the phone rang. If not she would yell,”didn’t you girls hear the phone ring! I was standing outside Waldbaums in this heat calling over and over again!” Oops this is not about mothers yelling, maybe next Wednesday. I remember one hot night sleeping over my cousins and being told that baby powder cools you off when you are trying to sleep. By the way, it doesn’t. It just takes forever to come out of your hair.
Okay an Officer and a Gentleman was my favorite back then and of course Grease. Saw them both about 11 times. I think I just always wanted to be thin enough for a sailor to carry me and wouldn’t it be great to wear spandex pants while he was doing it.

But the top of my list will always be Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. Can’t wait for next Wednesday!”

Comment by Suzanne Tavel

Welcome to the New School Year

How many ways can I get Robin Thicke, Miley Cyrus, the VMAs and Blurred Lines into a Standardized Test? Read it and see.

Pure poetry

Pure poetry

“Reading this blog brought back memories from hell regarding my older daughter’s twelve years of school. She was always last minute Lil and made it her parents fault for not being prepared. When all else failed she yelled, but I’m a kid and it’s your responsibility to make me do it. Now that she is 25 and in Graduate school she doesn’t say the same words but does blame everyone else for her lack of preparation. Thank God I have a thick skin!”

Comment by Tony Lagalante

How long before I'm on the cover with you?

How long before I’m on the cover with you?

Author? Yes, Author

To discuss my book in greater detail, I had Oprah “interview” me. It wasn’t as shocking as her interview with Lance Armstrong, but it was pretty good.

“What do you mean you’re not a marketer? Oprah just interviewed you. It doesn’t get bigger than that!”

Comment by lisasafran

This is gonna be fun

This is gonna be fun

Welcome to Catholic Schools Week

Ah, Catholic Schools Week. The activities! The fun! The shared moments! I’d love to go back in time and plan the events for my own Catholic School Week. Did you ever try Nun Pinata or Pin the Tail on the Monsignor? Read on…

“OMG! I had to slap my hand over my mouth to keep from laughing too loud here at work!”

Comment by wordimprovisor177 

Great movie

Great movie

My Fan Letter to James Garner

The Rockford Files, The Great Escape, Support Your Local Sheriff. How could you not love James Garner?

“Another reason why we’re friends…love, love, love James Garner.”

Comment by doreenmoran

Cheers!

Cheers!

Recipe:

Here are some champagne recipes to help you celebrate your next big event:

http://allrecipes.com/recipes/drinks/cocktails/champagne-drinks/

This one sounds good to me:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Bellini-Meanie-Martini/Detail.aspx?evt19=1

So, Hungry Lifers…what’s your favorite post of mine from the last year? What would you like to have me write about this year? Please leave a comment and let us all know. Thanks!

6 Comments »

  1. Wow! I can’t believe it’s been 4 years already. Wednesdays wouldn’t be Wednesdays without your blog. Its the first thing I look for. I love your sense of humor and that family of yours, oh don’t get me started 🙂 One good thing, your family will always give you endless stories to write about. Congratulations on this milestone. I love your blogs!

    Comment by Kathleen Lagalante — April 9, 2014 @ 8:27 am | Reply

  2. Four years of blogs. My how time flies. Tempus doth fugit doesnth it? Misspellings intended. The fact of the matter is I miss that old Buick and all the people we crammed into it including the children who have long ago morphed into adults. How time does move on and we mere mortals with it. In fact some of us have morphed into the very persons we found funny or distasteful. Not me of course!

    Comment by Bglou — April 9, 2014 @ 9:23 am | Reply

  3. Congratulations Maria! Ok for me, Blurred Lines entry made me laugh out loud, so that was one of my favorites.

    Comment by Suzanne — April 9, 2014 @ 2:51 pm | Reply

    • Oops, laugh out loud the most, there were plenty of other times too.

      Comment by Suzanne — April 9, 2014 @ 2:52 pm | Reply

  4. Very clever way of putting all the comments together, Maria. Congratulations on your 4-year milestone! That’s pretty amazing!

    Comment by Lisa — April 10, 2014 @ 11:22 pm | Reply

  5. Maria, now that you are embarking on the College hunt for you kids I would like you to reference how we did it in the old days. You as a parent in 2014 have taken an active part in the hunt for the right school for your child. I’m sure the comparison for the 1980’s is similar. Remember the care packages we were sent when we went away to school? Maybe that should go in your recipes? Go to it!

    Another topic you should visit is the way our kids chastise us for our eating habits. How we don’t eat the right foods, know how to season it, and/or portion it out. If they had the choices we grew up I think they would have starved.

    Comment by Tony Lagalante — April 12, 2014 @ 3:31 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

