Tales From A Hungry Life

May 14, 2014

10 Amazing Advertising Mascots

by Maria Schulz

Have you ever wondered what’s new with Ronald McDonald lately? Honestly, doesn’t everyone? Well, here’s the scoop.

Ronald, sporting his new look

Ronald, sporting his new look. Credit: McDonald’s Flickr

http://www.nbcnews.com/business/consumer/ronald-mcdonald-loses-jumpsuit-joins-twitter-n88561

I’m not sure why Ronald McDonald needs to have his look freshened; it’s not like his new outfit makes him look less like a clown. It’s still not chic, and kind of nerdy. Here’s how the conversation with his stylist probably went:

“Ronald, look! We gave you a fresh new look. We ditched the 70s jumpsuit and replaced it with a stylin’ red vest. It’s red carpet worthy!”

“Wow, I look totally amazing! I feel like George Clooney! Do I look like him now?”

“No,” says the Hamburglar, who just happens to be walking by. “You look like a clown in a red vest.”

Besides imagining discussions between Ronald McDonald, his stylist, and The Hamburglar, I sometimes think of my favorite food mascots from  years gone by. So here are ten mascots that always take me back.

My Top Ten Mascots

He used good and plenty candy, to make his train run

He used good and plenty candy, to make his train run

10. Choo Choo Charlie

Is Choo Choo Charlie really an advertising mascot? I’m not sure. But what I am sure of is that I will never forget his theme song, or the many incredible uses he had for Good-n-Plenty candy:

“Once upon a time there was an engineer.

Choo Choo Charlie was his name we hear.

He had an engine, and it sure looked fun

He used Good-n-Plenty candy, to make his train run.

Good-n-Plenty, Good-n-Plenty, Good-n-Plenty…

9. The Taco Bell Chihuahua

Taco_Bell_Chihuahua_

“Yo quiero taco bell!” Who wouldn’t want Taco Bell, especially when this adorable little pooch wants some too? I’m not sure how often I would run out to get tacos based on the recommendation of an unfamiliar dog with crazy ears and an accent like my grandmother’s, but in this case, I am  willing to make an exception.

8. The Trix Rabbit

“Silly rabbit. Trix is for kids!” I hated those kids in the commercial because they wouldn’t let that poor rabbit have some of their cereal. Yes, I’ll admit it, I got my mother to buy Trix, because I hoped to right the wrong that was so obvious in the “Trix is for kids” mantra. I stopped buying Trix when I realized I probably wouldn’t meet that Silly Rabbit after all. But come to think of it, maybe I should keep some on hand…just in case.

7. The Kool-Aid Man

Kool_Aid_Man

How can you not love a mascot who starts off every commercial running through brick walls? Hey, hey, it’s Kool Aid time! Never mind that his drink is so sweet that it makes my teeth ache just remembering it and the phrase “she drank the Kool Aid” took on a whole new meaning around the late 70s. I would still love to have him come over, but if he crashes through any of my brick walls, I may just have to introduce him to my good friend, Mr. Baseball Bat.

6. Mr. Peanut

With his monocle, top hat and gloves, you just can’t help but find Mr. Peanut to be the classiest Peanut around. He makes me proud to eat peanuts! I could do without the salty language, but otherwise he’s a perfect gentleman.

5. Poppin’ Fresh Dough (The Little Dough Boy)

Little Poppie

Little Poppie…still waiting

Poke him in the stomach and he’ll laugh! Here was a mascot who became so recognizable that they even made a line of toys built around him. I asked my mom to get me The Little Dough Boy (a.k.a. “Poppin’ Fresh”) for Christmas one year because there was an opening in the kitchen of my Barbie’s “townhouse” (I never actually owned a Barbie Townhouse; Barbie lived on the top of my dresser). Unfortunately, my mother couldn’t find The Little Dough Boy, so she got me Little Poppie, Poppin’ Fresh’s little lady love. I adored Little Poppie, and made sure when I played with her to say that “Doughie” would come home soon. Alas, he never showed up. I still haven’t forgiven him.

4. The Jolly Green Giant

Ho, Ho, Ho

Ho, Ho, Ho

This happy fellow has been towering over the valley of vegetables, laughing heartily and keeping the world safe for all vegetable-loving folk since the 1920s. I read that he was so incredibly popular with customers that the company who created him actually changed their name to Green Giant to match their mascot. Now that’s some serious street cred.

3. The Lucky Charms Leprechaun

Magically delicious

Magically delicious

Who wouldn’t want to buy a million boxes of Lucky Charms with this fine little man on the box? I haven’t had Lucky Charms in years, but I don’t blame Lucky for trying to keep it all to himself. There were marshmallows shaped like pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, green clovers…and blue diamonds. Lucky said it was “magically delicious” and if memory serves me, he was absolutely right.

2. Chester Cheetah

One. Cool. Cat.

One. Cool. Cat.

Okay, so this cool cat seems bent on the utter destruction of non-Cheetos-loving people the world over. But I feel a sense of intertwining destiny with him since he loses his mind whenever he’s confronted by a bag of cheetos. I get a kick out of his very cool take on life, unapologetic need to vanquish foes, and quest to get his paws on the cheesy good stuff. Of course, the fact that he’s also made lots of “creepy mascot” lists only makes him more amusing to me. And speaking of creepy mascots….

1. The King, Burger King

Dinner with the King

Dinner with the King

I always believed that The King made running out for a whopper with fries and a big thick shake much cooler than it otherwise might have been. In between late night whopper runs, he made me laugh, especially when he put shaving cream in a sleeping girl’s hand and “woke up” in bed with an unsuspecting man.

Apparently, I was alone in thinking that he was a scream…well, at least in a funny way. Burger King dethroned their “King” when they realized that the whole world seemed to find him creepy and a terrible mascot. In fact, he even came out #1 on a list of “The Creepiest Mascots of All Time.”

Oh well. Maybe he should give Ronald McDonald’s stylist a call.

Recipes:

Healthy Smoothies

Looks good

Made me think of cookies and cream…probably a lot better for you this way

I realize that the list of mascots above are not exactly banner representatives of good living, but I guess you have to start somewhere. So, here are 26 Healthy Smoothie Recipes, including a Banana Cream Pie Smoothie, Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie, and a Banana Agave Smoothie.

So, Hungry Lifers: do you have a favorite food mascot? Do you think that Chester Cheetah and “The King” are really creepy? Which smoothie recipe do you like best? Please leave a comment and let us all know. Thanks!

6 Comments »

  1. Very disappointed and I know your brother is crushed!!!!! What no “Tony The Tiger”? Frosted Flakes. Maybe you can correct this before he reads this blog and realizes he is the forgotten one. As for me, I know that Popeye is no mascot but I ate more spinach because of him than I would have eaten without him. In fact I still enjoy spinach salads. Wimpy of course was a big Hamburger pusher before the King as he would say, “If you lend me a quarter for a hamburger today I will pay you back Thursday”. But as far as I know he never paid anyone back. To finish this is Fat Stuff from “Smilin” Jack” made us all thank our moms for sewing on our buttons since we didn’t have any chickens standing around with beaks open to catch the buttons as they popped off our shirts. .

    Comment by Bglou — May 14, 2014 @ 10:13 am | Reply

    • I didn’t forget Tony the Tiger, I just chose to leave him off my list. He can go sulk with Snap, Crackle and Pop, the talking M&Ms, and Chaquita Banana. I stand by my list! As far as my brother Tony goes, he knows I think he’s grrrr-eat!

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — May 14, 2014 @ 10:47 am | Reply

  2. I’m having a flashback of people wearing the big Imperial Margarine crown. Not sure why that’s the one that sticks out beyond your list. I don’t even like margarine that much. Hey, maybe next time can you cover the jingles that go with these mascots? Many of the tunes are forever stuck in my head. Ho, ho, ho, green giant.

    Comment by Lisa — May 16, 2014 @ 8:52 am | Reply

    • Of course, who didn’t wear that crown? I will get to work on that jingle post. Thanks for commenting.

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — May 16, 2014 @ 10:23 am | Reply

  3. Anyone having flashbacks of Seinfeld episode and the guy who was dating Elaine being the goopy King?

    Comment by Bglou — May 16, 2014 @ 11:01 am | Reply

    • He worked for The Wiz and would say “NOBODY BEATS THE WIZ!” Elaine was horrified. You can check out his photo here:

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — May 19, 2014 @ 8:40 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

