Tales From A Hungry Life

March 25, 2015

My Cartoon Heroes

by Maria Schulz

Beep, beep

Beep, beep

Nothing makes me teleport back to my childhood faster than a great cartoon. Bugs Bunny, Wile E. Coyote (Super Genius), The Road Runner, Tweety Bird, Sylvester, Yosemite Sam, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, The Tasmanian Devil, and lots of others helped me develop a sense of humor, a love of sarcasm, and the ability to see pratfalls as the funniest things on earth. This was a huge selling point for me, since I had so many brothers who enjoyed helping me fall…a lot!

Here are my Favorite Cartoons from Back in the Day:

bugs and Taz
1. Looney Tunes: who among us of a certain age has sat through an entire episode without laughing? Yes, there was violence. Yes, there were moments of sheer meanness. But look at their problem solving abilities! Bugs Bunny managed to not get eaten on any number of occasions. Porky Pig got through life despite his stutter. Tweety Bird became more confident thanks to her ability to see Puddy Tats (Pussy Cats, for the uninformed) when no one else did. Plus, Wile E. Coyote never gave up, despite multiple contusions and probably head traumas. If you can’t find the silver linings in these cartoons, you’re just not looking hard enough.

gorilla_4_sale
2. Magilla Gorilla: Come on, sing it with me: “We’ve got a gorilla for sale. Magilla Gorilla for sale. Won’t you buy him? Take him home and try him? Gorilla for Sale. He’s real, he’s a deal, and he’s awfully cute. He’s an ever livin’ doll in a monkey suit!” I wanted to adopt him then, and I still want to adopt him now.

Ricochet&droop-a-long
3. Ricochet Rabbit: Bing, bing, bing! It’s Richochet Rabbit! Best sheriff ever, and you didn’t have to sit through a convoluted, hours-long mystery/Western show to get through it.

Josie_and_the_Pussycats_title
4. Josie and the Pussycats: This girl band rocked my world long before the Bangles or the Go Gos. Plus I loved their cat costumes! This cartoon is probably tied with Sabrina the Teenage Witch and The Perils of Penelope Pitstop, two more cartoons that celebrated smart, funny young women. Cool!

underdog
5. Underdog! My doggie hero. Always there when you need him and ready to save the day. Who needs Superman?

D'oh! Donuts!

D’oh! Donuts!

6. The Simpsons: I remember when this show first appeared as a weird little sketch on the Tracy Ullman show. When it became a series in its own right, I would watch it at my boyfriend’s house. We thought it was a hoot. Bart had to write on the blackboard! Lisa was a genius! Maggie never said anything! Marge’s hair was almost as high as mine (it was the 80s)! Homer liked Duff beer, playing hooky, and trying to strangle Bart. What an odd little anti-family. How I hoped that show would last.

Here are my Favorite Cartoons from My Childrens’ Childhood:

The-grim-adventures-of-billy-and-mandy-44745
1. The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy: if you have never seen this one, go to Cartoon Network or find it on Netflix. It is super creative, filled with dark humor, and absolutely hilarious. Death (Grim, a.ka. the Grim Reaper) gets hoodwinked into being Billy & Mandy’s “forever friend” when he loses a bet…and the laughs never die!

Foster-s-Home-For-Imaginary-Friends-fosters-home-for-imaginary-friends-21056959-1024-768
2. Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends: This is probably one of the most imaginative, endearing cartoons ever, with hysterical story lines that keep it from being overly sentimental or sweet. Eight-year-old Mac is told by his mom that it’s time to get rid of his Imaginary Friend, so he brings his best bud, Bloo, to Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. Madame Foster, the wacky owner, and her own beloved imaginary friend, Mr. Harriman, run the place, with the help of her teenage granddaughter, Frankie. This show features tons of hilarious imaginary friends and makes Christopher Robin (of Winnie the Pooh fame) seem like an absolute slacker in the imaginary friend department.

the powerpuff girls
3. The Powerpuff Girls: GIRL POWER! Brought to life by their Professor Dad, three radioactive girls save the day as often as needed, in between going to school and playing in the sandbox. Funny storylines, great villains, and three five-year-old heroines made this cartoon a riot.

Wallace_and_gromit
4. Wallace & Gromit: HANG ON, LAD! The dog’s a genius, and he always saves his daffy, beloved inventor/owner. Thanks to Wallace’s penchant for inventions gone wrong, his love of cheese, and his inability to see trouble coming, Gromit must stay on his toes. Claymation has never been so much fun.

Kipper_the_Dog
5. Kipper the Dog: This gentle-voiced pooch and his friends often went off on adorable adventures by the sea side…and sent my little ones off to Dreamland in the process. The sound of Kipper’s voice still makes me weep with joy. Franklin (the turtle) also had a calming effect that made my kids laugh, smile, and pass right out. How I loved that cartoon turtle!

Now here's a race I would really enjoy

Now here’s a race I would really enjoy

6) The Simpsons: It’s a pretty amazing thing when a show that first premiered during my early days is still on and is now thoroughly enjoyed by my children. When my family and I saw The Simpsons Movie at the theater, no one was laughing harder (or louder, as my children remember it) than me. I still think the Simpsons are hilarious. It’s so wrong, it’s right sometimes. How could you not love Homer? By the way, my boyfriend still watches it with me…except now he’s my husband.

Recipes:

DONUTS!

If they’re good enough for Homer, they’re good enough for me. Here are some better for you choices from Health.com, including Chocolate Hazelnut, Lemon Glaze, Cinnamon Sugar, and more. The secret to cutting the fat and calories? Bake ’em.

So, Hungry Lifers…what are  your all-time favorite cartoons? Who’s your favorite character? Which cartoons do your kids swear by? Do you have a healthy donut recipe? Please leave a comment and let us all know. Thanks!

5 Comments »

  1. When I was a kid Saturday afternoons were spent at the RKO Keith’s where we saw a double feature movie, newsreel, Bernie at the Organ, a serial and a bunch of cartoons all for 25 cents. Cartoons were the best as far as I was concerned. Watching Popeye be transformed by a can of spinach he always had available as he rescued Olive Oyl from Brutus (Fat Stuff) clutches. We had Loony Tunes where Elmer Fudd with his maligned speech would be tripped up by Bugs Bunny (What’s Up Doc?)every time. Road Runner always getting away while his pursuer had a safe fall on him. Donald Duck with Huey, Dewy and Louie and his love Daisy was always fun. I could go on and on but you get the idea. Cartoons are great as they keep me laughing at essentially is myself because they always mirror what’s going on inside of my head in one way or the other.

    Comment by Bglou — March 25, 2015 @ 9:51 am | Reply

    • We didn’t go to the RKO Keith’s for our cartoon fix–we loaded up on them on weekday afternoons and Sat mornings at home! Now you can turn on Cartoon Network or Nickelodeon and watch all day. Popeye was great–I knew you’d talk about him! Thanks for the comment.

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — March 25, 2015 @ 11:20 am | Reply

  2. Maria, Saturday mornings were filled with cartoons that have faded into the wind. I can’t remember the names but there was one with a brother and sister who put two halves of a ring together and a genie appears. They are thrown back in time to a desert land. I hated that we had to clean on Saturday morning because by the time it was 12 or 1 the cartoons stopped. I got to admit some of the ones you wrote about I never heard of. It did bring back nostalgia for old TV shows like Bewitched, I Dream of Genie, the Munsters, Batman and Robin, and Gilligan’s Island. They were so stupid, but so great at the time. When I watch them now I go back to the times as a child and remember who I was with when I saw them then. Boy did we laugh.

    Comment by Tony Lagalante — March 27, 2015 @ 8:27 pm | Reply

  3. Well, maybe I can refresh Tony’s memory a bit. Saturday morning’s were the best, because the team of Hanna-Barbara ALWAYS kept our imaginations running wild. Yes, we had to clean the house, etc, but there was always enough time to catch up on our favorites. One of my all time fav’s were “The Herculoids”……a cartoon that told the story of a far away distant planet that was the home world of King Zandor and his family…….. and the group of strange creatures that protected them from evil aliens all around the galaxy…… The Herculoids were: 1. Igoo, the strange giant ape-like creature with tremendous strength (Jude wanted to be him…..he was the obvious choice, cause Jude was the oldest and had the first pick). 2.Zock, the flying reptile/dragon creature that could fire laser beams from his eyes and tail (that was YOU Tony…….since you wore glasses, anything to do with the eyes was the obvious choice for you). 3 Tundrow…….he was the rhino-looking creature that could fire balls of “energy rocks” through his snout, they were like grenades, he could also, from a full charge, plow through the side of a mountain if he had to (another obvious choice: Louie.) 4 & 5, Gloop and Gleep…..they were the strange, ghost like looking creatures that were elastic and could stretch and contort their bodies into any sort of shape…….. whether using themselves as parachutes for King Zandor’s family or as giant elastic rubber bands for Igoo to be able to use to use boulders to sling against their enemies. They also spoke like Cousin Itt, from The Addams Family…… being that Maria and Chris weren’t around at this time, I was Gloop, Joe was Gleep. Used to LOVE that show! There was also Space Ghost, before he became a cult favorite in the nineties with his late night “talk show”, Space Ghost, coast to coast, it was actually a great Sat morning cartoon. Jace and Jan were his sidekicks, with a little masked monkey, who’s name I forget. Space Ghost was able to give them a wrist band that enabled them all to be able to hit a switch and they turned invisible. Tony, the cartoon that I think you were talking about in your post was called Alladin the Genie, I think. The brother and sister would put the 2 halves of the ring together to summon him. He was a giant genie with incredible powers and he would protect them whenever they were on an adventure. Also: Johnny Quest! Tony, you couldn’t remember him?? His father was an intrepid, adventure-seeking scientist, along with Johnny’s best friend, the boy Hadji, who was a bit of a magician, and Dr. Quest’s best friend, Race Bannion(?) I THINK that was his name, he sort of served as Johnny’s protector. Plus, Johnny’s dog Bandit. The list goes a little more on and on, I don’t know if I can list all of em. Gigantor was also a great one as well!

    Comment by Paul — April 19, 2015 @ 12:52 pm | Reply

  4. […] Cartoons […]

    Pingback by Happy 6th Anniversary to Me | Tales From A Hungry Life — April 6, 2016 @ 6:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

