Tales From A Hungry Life

May 9, 2017

The Seven Year Itch Blog Post

by Maria Schulz

It’s been a while. As usual, life has gotten in the way and I haven’t been writing as much as I would like—or at all. I wanted to write a blog post but inspiration just didn’t come a’callin. My blog is a lot like a romantic relationship: it requires care and feeding, but I just wasn’t in the mood. However, I knew I needed it and it needed me, so I logged on. This message was waiting for me:

 

ACHIEVEMENT

Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com!

You registered on WordPress.com 7 years ago.

Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging.

I was torn between being really touched, and being kind of horrified. I FORGOT MY BLOG’S ANNIVERSARY!!! Anyone who has ever walked through the door on anniversary night without flowers, candy, or diamonds knows what I’m feeling right now. I neglected my blog! I couldn’t even remember our stinkin’ anniversary! What kind of monster am I?

Yes, 7 years ago I started this blog relationship, not expecting to have anyone read anything I wrote. That made me sad and kind of glad too. Yes, I wanted people to read my writing, but no…I didn’t want anyone to ever read my writing.

It’s scary out there

Writing in this public way is exhilarating and terrifying. It’s a thrill to have people read and comment on something that I’ve created. But it’s also like standing in Macy’s window during the holidays wearing nothing but tinsel. You can’t help but feel exposed.

Forgetting my blogging anniversary made me feel sad. There was a time when I couldn’t get enough of posting and sharing. Everything was new and exciting. I had a forum for my family stories! I was getting laughs when I told stories about my relatives! I could give Valentine’s tips or make fun of the Twilight movies—often at the SAME TIME! Blogging was something I couldn’t wait to do.

Are you a vampire?

But then…the years rolled by. My blog got kind of flabby. He wasn’t the same as he was seven years ago. I could hear Bloggy giving me pep talks, saying things like: “Did you blog today?” “The key to writing is to just show up!” and “You’re letting your readers down!” He always wanted me to do my best and honestly, he was something of a nag. He was starting to get on my nerves. Sometimes being with him was immensely gratifying. Other times, the responsibility of keeping him fed and happy drove me crazy. Plus, deep down I was always afraid that I would bomb on the blogging stage.

I searched “people who bombed on stage” and this is the image that came up

I still enjoy writing blog posts and sharing stories, but the blog has become like that old, reliable love interest that you know will still be there when you feel like showing up. I even started this blog post a month ago and then put it aside. Bloggy could wait. I had other challenges to attend to.

What a nag

While he was sitting waiting patiently for my return, I started to think about how glad I am that I started this blog in 2010. It helped me grow in confidence and vision. Here are all the things that blogging has helped me achieve over the past 7 years:

I’ve got a lot to be thankful for

  • Telling my family stories helped me finally complete my first book, Tales From A Hungry Life: A Memoir With Recipes. I got congrats from folks as far away as Ireland who said they enjoyed my book. I even got fan mail!
  • My readers liked the first book so much that they asked for a second. So, I’m currently writing Hungry Lifer: More Tales. More Stories. More Fun. I’m hopeful that I’ll have a cover to share soon, and that I’ll have the entire book published in time for a reading in August.
  • I have written 206 posts on everything and anything: my family, my friends, Catholic school, teachers, books, pets, dead celebrities, an author book reading, the cast for the movie/broadway show/television sitcom for Tales From A Hungry Life, and lots more

I could’ve just gone on social media and started writing 140 word posts and gotten a ton of likes for stories distilled into fragments. But it wouldn’t have been the same.Here’s the thing: I miss my blog. Sure, Bloggy isn’t the new and exciting love that he was in 2010. But like anyone in a long-term relationship can tell you, there are perks to riding out the tough times and hanging in there.

I love writing, and my blog gave me a safe place to do just that. It taught me how to stand up and tell my stories with confidence. It proved to me that writing was my gift, and I should share it with the world.

Keep up the pep talks, Bloggy

One of my old high school English teachers once said to me, “Who do you think you are? Emily Dickinson? Stop putting your work under the bed to gather dust. Show it to the world!”

Okay, so it took me about 3 decades to follow his advice. At times, I’m more like Angie Dickinson than Emily. My blog gave me the courage to talk about my writing, and for that I will forever be grateful. My blog gave me an avenue for expression that I never had before. So here I am again, recommitted (and possibly in need of being committed).

Buckle up, readers. This may be a bumpy ride.

Recipe: Chicken Enchiladas

Yum!

This recipe is from Chef Katie Workman and the good people at City Meals on Wheels. I remember City Meals on Wheels fondly because they kept my grandmother nourished and cared for in her old age. Plus, Chef Workman says this is a dish that makes people happy, so sign me up.

So, Hungry Lifers: what makes you happy? Do you have any blog post ideas for me? Which recipe is your go-to comfort choice? Please leave a response and let us know.

Thanks for 7 really wonderful years. Bloggy and I will keep plugging away, for better or worse.

8 Comments »

  1. Happy Anniversary, Maria! Proud of you for sharing your gift with the world. Keep doing it at precisely the pace that makes sense at the time.

    Comment by lisasafran — May 9, 2017 @ 1:37 pm | Reply

    • Thank you! I am doing my best and I will keep blogging as often as I can. It means a lot to me that you always read this blog.

      Comment by talesfromahungrylife — May 10, 2017 @ 6:39 am | Reply

  2. Happy Anniversary Maria! I always enjoy reading your blogs. You are your family’s historian. As you know, there was a loss in my family this week. I had to go through several pictures to capture certain moments in time. I came across a huge plastic storage bin filled with Lagalante’s pictures. I am sure, once I see you, there will be a lot of inspiration for you in that bin to continue to write these wonderful blogs. Keep on writing you have a gift!

    Comment by Kathleen — May 9, 2017 @ 2:52 pm | Reply

  3. Happy Anniversary Maria!!! I’m sure there are lots of topics out there waiting for you to discover them. Look what you were able to do,with forgetting your blogs Anniversary 😀

    Comment by Suzanne — May 9, 2017 @ 3:58 pm | Reply

  4. I will keep searching for those topics. Thank you for the Anniversary wishes and for always reading!

    Comment by talesfromahungrylife — May 10, 2017 @ 6:41 am | Reply

  5. Maria, so you and your blog have grown apart for a while, we all do. As I read it shows it was temporary and you to are back together again. Don’t forget to nurture your relationship on a regular basis and meet at least once a week (have a date night) to share ideas. We all have to work at relationships and forgetting an anniversary does happen from time to time, don’t let that define your dedication to your blog. A topic to explore may be the sandwich generation and the pressures they have. Their time is limited so your recipes you give could be time saving with no more than 30 minutes to prepare the food. Keep on writing and bring up the memories from the past that so many of us can recall, but need the extra help in print to reminisce. Happy Anniversary!!!!!

    Comment by Tony Lagalante — May 10, 2017 @ 10:30 am | Reply

  6. I enjoy all of your writings. But you knew that didn’t you? But I understand what happens to long term relationships because some might consider me long term. Any long term relationship needs care, daily. However daily care and TLC becomes a problem when you might need TLC given to you rather than giving to the object of this care. Times of stagnation must be brushed aside and while nothing is as fresh as a new bloom the bloom can be kept fresh by water and good soil. So keep writing. Keep building the Blog relationship. The results are always interesting, fun and entertaining.

    Comment by bglou — May 10, 2017 @ 2:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

